Sininglangan Ballpen Art Competition is the first inter-university art event organized by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, UE Office of Cultural Affairs and UE College of Fine Arts, Architecture and Design held last February 23, 2012 at UE Tan Yan Kee Building in line with the celebration of the National Arts Month.

The event was a tribute to UECFAD former College Secretary Prof. Angelito S. De Guzman, as one of the pioneers of ballpen art in the Philippines.  With the theme “Tradisyon at Inobasyon “, eleven universities with 3 to 4 student representatives competed; University of the Philippines, University of Santo Tomas, Philippine Women’s University, Far Eastern University, FEATI University, EARIST, Technological University of the Philippines, St. Scholastica’s College, Bulacan State University, Tarlac State University and the host school University of the East, Caloocan.

All in all, 36 artist-participants were given free art materials from major sponsors Faber-Castel Philippines and Dong-A. There was also a side-bar Drawing event for all the students and visitors from other universities organized by the sponsors.

The judging proper exactly started at 3:00 PM and the honourable jurors selected 12 outstanding entries, headed by world class painters Mr. Robert Deniega, Edgar Fernandez, Danilo Pangan and Brand Manager of Faber Castel, UE CFA alumna Ms. Roselle G. Rivera.

The awarding ceremony was spearheaded by UE CFAAD competition chairman Prof. Ellen Villanueva with Arch. Celino B. Santiago, Dean CFAAD, Dr. Zosimo Battad, UE Caloocan Chancellor, and a representative from UE Office of the Cultural Affairs Mr. Peter Marc. S. Ramos.

Finalists are Gare, Philip Cesare and Kristopher Paguirigan of FEATI, Don Michael Bunag and Renz Marrione Bautista of BulSU, Stephanie Go of UST , Froilan Pastrana of TUP, Bernardo Cabugnason of Tarlac  State, Nazer Zulueta of UP Diliman and Gene Paul Martin of FEU.

Jestine John Torres of EASRIST landed third place, University of the East, Caloocan representative and painting major Fernando Antimano in second and Lawrence Jay Cervantes of Bulacan State University hailed Grand Winner of the first SININGLANGAN Ballpen Art Competition.

Lawrence received 10,000 Pesos, a glass palette trophy designed by Arch. Celino B. Santiago and gift packs from Faber Castle and Dong-A, Philippines. While the second and the third place winners Antimano and Torres got 7,000 and 5,000 pesos, plus trophy and gift packs respectively. The winning works will be part of an Art Exhibition in UE Manila Campus.





Third Prize: Jestine John Torres of EASRIST

Second Place: Fernando Antimano, University of the East, Caloocan

First Prize: Lawrence Jay Cervantes of Bulacan State University



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s